LED HEADLIGHT DRIVING LIGHT

Refuzn-To-Grow-Up

One of the forum members, after reading my post (regarding LED light bars), on Roger Dickenson’s post about Nuclear lights (the link is below), sent me a PM to share with the group.

Rather than hijack Roger’s thread, I started another thread on LED lights. I did some (but not a lot of research in the resource guide), but I am no expert on this HDT stuff nor electrical stuff (I am more of a gear head).
I have had several email conversations with the member about his conversion to LED lights and, with his permission, I am sharing his work. The member prefers NOT to post on the forum. And, I respect his request. His comments are in red type.
His Volvo is a 2002 and mine is a 2008. As I recall, he has a Gen I and mine is a Gen II.
I am not sure if a Gen II computer is going to “whine” about the difference in current draw between all LED driving lights and stock. Anyone?
Jim:
Like everyone else, I found the stock Volvo headlights to be pretty abysmal. I installed LED bulbs in my 2002 Volvo 780 that helped a lot, and I feel that the low beam performance is now adequate with those bulbs. But high beam performance was still unacceptable.
So, I took a chance and ordered these:
They have a 10 degree reflector, so the beam is very narrow. It's important to make sure that you know what degree the beam pattern is on LED light bars. Most "spot" beams are 30 degrees, which is not adequate for long range lighting. I wouldn't even consider anything above 15 degrees for this application. And if the ad doesn't explicitly state the degrees, I wouldn't take a chance on it.