Fifth Wheel for Wyoming Year-Round

KJones

Hi All,

My wife and I have been full-timing in Wyoming for the past 3 years and may be travelling to NW Montana soon. Our current rig is not really outfitted for four season or full-time use but we've managed quite well. Anyway, we are thinking of upgrading to a larger unit and are looking at purchasing something like an Arctic Fox 35-5Z or a used Excel 34IKE (unless we can get a great deal on a new one).

We're not really sure of how an Arctic Fox would hold up for full-time year-round use in our climate and are more confident about the Excel based on what we've read. Would that be a fairly accurate assessment? We've obviously made do with much less luxurious accommodations than either unit offers for the past few years but we want to end up with something we're not constantly worrying about.

As for the Excel, I've read that their MSRP doesn't give much wiggle room for negotiations. Is that still the case? Any advice would be most appreciated.

Thanks!

If I were going to setup for full-time year round use in NW Montana, here's what I would do and in this order.

1. While living the existing RV, I would put down a concrete slab and build a roof for the largest RV that you figure you might possibly have - say 45' x 18' - give your self enough room to slide out slides and have snow shadow protection.

2. Once that is up, look for a gently used RV and move it to the site. Under a roof, any RV will last much longer.

3. Build skirting around the base of the RV - skirting will more than pay for itself in heating cost savings.

That's my 2-cents.

Bill