General Operation

Badboy

I purchased a 2013 Salem by Forest River, travel trailer. I'm new to camping, and have several questions on the operation.

!. Does the battery charge, while being plugged in to electrical outlet ?

2. Does the battery charge, while being towed with tow vehicle ?

3. Does the gray water, and sewer water tanks fill and then fill the portable tank. Or does it flow straight into the potable tank ?  Gate valves open of course.

4.The panel that holds the slide out button and the tank gauges, has a rocker switch marked water heater. Next to it is a red indicator light that is marked RESET. When switch is turned to the "ON" position, the light shines. I'm confused because outside in the water heater compartment, there is a "ON" and "OFF" switch for the water heater.

This will get me started. If anyone has any other tips, they would greatly appreciated ! :unsure:

3. Grey water tank fills from sink/shower. Black water tank fills from toilet. Fresh water tank fills from a hose connected to outside an source. Gate valves should be kept closed until there enough in the black tank to get a good dump. Gray water should be dumped after black water to rinse out the dump hose.

I'll let someone with more electrical knowledge than I have answer the rest of your questions.

Linda Sand

Blog: http://sandcastle.sandsys.org/

Former Rigs: Liesure Travel van, Winnebago View 24H, Winnebago Journey 34Y, Sportsmobile Sprinter conversion van

#1 - I'm sure you have a converter somewhere that charges the house batteries while you are plugged in.  That should have been explained to you during the walk through prior to pulling out from the dealership.  If not, hire a mobile tech to come out and pay them to go through ALL of the systems with you.

#2 - probably not.  Shouldn't be a problem.