AC Assistance please!

coachmac9

One of my neighbors in the RV park that we are staying at has a AC problem and needs some assistance. I know little to nothing about AC systems so I told him that I knew a place to go to ask folks that could usually answer most any question....so here goes...he has a fairly new bumper pull trailer (2013) with Dometic AC's. Both are working fine but the one in the front started leaking water inside the trailer instead of draining it out to the roof of the trailer...now the problem is kind of obvious, right? Stopped up drain hose or if it has a pan that drain is stopped up... should be pretty easy to fix, right?? But we can't find any type of drain hose to unstop or a pan that has a drain... what exactly should we be looking for???? Thanks in advance!!

I am not technical at all but from my past experience here is what helped me. I was in a very hot humid area and the condensation from the A/C was dripping right through the unit and into the rig. After looking at the manual, I set my fan on high so that it always ran (rather than only running when the A/C was pumping, or running on low). This solved my problem. Not sure if this at all translates to what is going on with your friends, but putting it out there just in case it helps.

Full-timing and enjoying every minute.

Blog: www.agingonwheels.com

If you remove the outside (roof) cover on the AC unit you'll see a metal cover that goes over the cooling fins. You can't do much to it from the outside but if you look at the bottom corners where it meets the main air conditioner base you should see a couple tiny holes, they should be letting water from the inside fins run out onto the AC's base and from there it should run out the low side of the unit. Pipe cleaners are good for a quick cleaning, otherwise try a piece of flexible wire you can stick in and wiggle. That will hold for a few days until more crud washes into the drain holes.