Dometic cfx 95 DZW

Hi, I have an issue with keeping the 12 v working when frig is connected. The 12v cord gets hot after several hours then the dometic frig gets an amber light. If I disconnect the frig and wait till the cord cools off and plug it back in it works again. I have an Opus trailer with 3 12v plugs and all 3 do the same thing. I called Domeyic and was told I had a ground problem. I had the 3 12 v plugs checked and could not find a problem. The frig works just fine when plugged into 120v. The frig will run fine in late evening when the weather is cooler. Any help on what the issues are would be appreciated.

Welcome to the Escapee open forums!

An I correct in assuming that your portable refrigerator cord is getting hot only when it operates from the 12V power source in the heat of the day. While I have no experience with any of the small, 12V compressor type of refrigerators, I do have more than 40 years of electrical service background. Based on that experience I am betting that the problem is your refrigerator is running too long at too high an amperage for the wire size of the cord. If the power plug is overheating, then it could be that the problem is the outlet and not the cord but one of them is exceeding the capability of it's construction. A cord will overheat when the current load is too much for it's capability and it begins to act like a resistance due to the excess load. The power required by the compressor is in watts, which is the voltage multiplied by the current. That means that at 12V it will require twice as many amps as it would at 24V and ten times the amps of a 120V power supply. In addition, as you draw power from your batteries the voltage actually changes, starting at fully charged with 13.6V and slowly falling with 10.5V when near maximum useful output. That means that if your refrigerator needs 75 watts of power it will draw 5.5A when the battery is fully charged and 7.2A when the battery falls to 10.5V.  The specs for the refr