Quality - unrelated

phoenix2013

I like quality products, always have. Whether it's something I own, use or, design. So after years of "retirement" and using same ol' stuff to solder the Jackalopee boards,

DSC_0166_zpsbdi60raa.jpg

I went on a "search" for something better.

This will mean something for those in "electronics", in order for the Jackalopee boards to be more robust and carry the current the relays are rated for, the PCBs have extra wide traces, doubled on the back side and the the copper cladding on both sides is not the standard 1 oz thickness, but 2 oz thickness (you use this thickness in electronics generating lots of current, power supplies, amplifiers, etc.).

I haven't bought new iron in over 20 years and being an engineer I wanted to know what's out there now.  Hot damn, it turned into a week long research project. The old Wellers are still out there but the technology has bypassed them years ago. I never owned a $250 soldering iron in my life, but said what the hell, will have to build few more Jackalopees.

DSC_0165_zpst1s9mtqw.jpg 

Hakko model FX-951. Amazing iron, the specs and features go on forever, the iron heating is DC and the same tip solders the surface mount parts as well as the big tabs into 2 oz. copper ground plane. They also have a $450 model, but I said, "OK Phoenix, don' go stupid, you don't need it and besides, that's too many Jackalopees". The tip goes cold (into "sleep") when in the holder but comes up to temperature in few seconds when you pick it up.

These are so good there is an "industry" that makes counterfeit units, and there is an information out there how to spot fakes (different microprocessors, other internal difference, etc.). 

Check out Hakko website and the equipment they have for the electronic manufacturing industry.

SWEET!!

Jack & Danielle Mayer #60376 Lifetime Member
Living on the road since 2000

PLEASE no PM's. Email me. jackdanmayer AT gmail
2016 DRV Houston 44' 5er (we still have it)