Advice on specific RV we're considering

A_K_Chesnut

Hi everyone! Wife and I are new to the forum, we are hunting our first full time rig. Here's more about us if you're interested: http://www.rvnetwork.com/index.php?showtopic=122207

We have narrowed down price, age range, motor and chassis, floor plan and length requirements for our rig. We've found one that checks all the boxes, was wondering if folks wouldn't mind throwing in their $0.02.

Oh, I should add we're pretty handy. I'm no mechanic, but can get my hands dirty. My wife was trained as a carpenter and used to work in construction. I can figure out a lot of things with the help of the internet. :) I have a good mechanic who can go over and tune up the motor. Also, we aren't starting full time in earnest until August 1st, so we want to get something soon to give us plenty of time to trouble shoot, repair and renovate. Our budget is $8k, including repairs.

Here's what we're looking at, same RV in both listings. Had a good conversation with the owner last night, asked a lot of questions as it's 2.5 hours from our home in Denver.

http://denver.craigslist.org/rvs/5447790524.html

http://denver.craigslist.org/rvs/5469138132.html

00A0A_fpnO3jARa7B_600x450.jpg

Purchased locally last fall, driven with 8 people to Chicago and back. Current owner can only confirm the furnace works, the water heater boiler burns and the generator turns on but not getting power to the rig. He says the previous owner said everything worked, but he personally has never used the A/C, furnace, stove/oven. Mechanically in great shape, no leaks, doesn't burn oil. Chevy TBI 454 with overdrive. Unsure on age of tires but good tread and no rot.