Electrical Systems 2012 Coachmen Chaparral

ANG0225

I am a Master Electrician with alot of years experience. Our 5th Wheeler is driving us a little batty. If we turn on two appliances, the breaker pops.

Fully realize that I only have a 30 amp circuit going to 5er. We had a Bounder w/ only 30amps as well but it didn't blow the breaker.

Here is what I am going to do:

-Map out the circuits in unit to see which one goes on which breaker. This should tell me where I can plug different things in without breaker tripping.

-Test the amperage that each appliance draws to see if I might have a faulty appliance OR if I perhaps have a weak breaker.

I

Here is what I am thinking of doing:

-Installing another load center under my carriage that will supply 50 amps. I will then plug my 30amp Factory supplied plug in that load center on a 30 amp breaker. Then in that load center I will install 2 more 20 amp breakers. From those 2 breakers I will add 2 circuits to my unit. One on the front area and one in the back. From that point forward, as long as I go to a site that has 50 amps, I should be good to go.

Quite certain that there are things that I am not thinking about. Hopefully someone will point those things out to me.

How has everyone else dealt with this?

I'm no electrical genius but if it were mine, I'd think about a faulty breaker first. I have found over the years that it's always the simple fix that we usually come to last. So, start with the simple one first. I would think that would be the easiest too.

Ray

2001 Fleetwood Southwind 32V

2011 Scion XB toad

Sorry, but I'm unsure what breaker is tripping?????? One of the RV's distribution panel branch circuit breakers (usually 15 or 20 amp) or a 30 amp breaker????