Bulding an Upper Bunk Safety Wall

RandyA

2004 Volvo VNL 670

This is a project I've been complicating for several years - I just never decided on a final design until last week.

What's behind this project is safely using the top bunk for extra storage. Even with the safety webbing in place I've always been concerned about the possibility of items stored "up top" coming down during a panic stop. Or, worse yet, an accident.

Normally items placed up top are soft in nature - extra pillows, blankets, clothing and a plastic tub in the center filled with smaller items. The safety webbing was pulled over the cargo and buckled in place. Still, gaps on the ends, bottom and the large openings in the safety webbing created opportunities for "stuff" to come out. Books, boat anchors, and toolboxes are not to be stored above. We have never used the top bunk for sleeping.

Plan A was to take the top bunk completely out and replace it with a 3/4" piece of plywood. Plan B was to cut the cover off the bunk, take out the padding and screw a piece of plywood on top of the metal framework. Plan C (which I elected) was to leave the bunk intact and place a piece of 1/2" plywood on top which would be screwed to the new "wall" with a 2"x 2" full length cleat. This plan required the least amount of labor and allowed for the return of an upper sleeping bunk should our needs ever change.

The vertical part, or the solid wall, was bolted against the back side of the cabinets with a door sporting heavy-duty hardware that would keep it closed. Since the cabinets are just plastic, a steel cable with anchors in the upper 2" x 4" structure of the wall was attached to the safety webbing mounts on the upper back of the cab (safety webbing removed and stored).

The hatch openings on the front of the wall were trimmed out with 3/4" polished aluminum trim and foam back covering that matches the OEM interior gray covering. The steel hinges and latches were also polished then covered with clear coat.