re-charge deep cycle batteries

Sir Traveller

hello everyone

I am new to Rvs, a couple of months ago  I bought a 2003  Ford V10 ( 4 wind hurricane ) , I installed 2 deep cycle batteries and just want to know how often should I recharge them, and what are the actual steps of recharge ( I read online 3 steps to recharge the barraties but no details of how to exactly do each step  ) . I am currently in a full RV hookup in San Diego, it is getting warmer here ( 70 to 80s / if that affect how often the batteries are recharged !?!!) I will appreciate any tips

thank you. 

( updated / edited ) I meant to say how often should I maintain the batteries ( refill water if it is below certain level ) not how often to recharge them ( that part I can tell from the test button obviously )

Welcome to the Escapee forums! Good to have you with us.

There are two ways that your house batteries get recharged under normal use. The first is that when you drive the RV there is a relay that connects the house batteries to the chassis battery system and it will charge the house batteries as well as the chassis battery while you are driving the RV. That method does a very good job of charging but there is also what is called a converter which when you park and connect to the shore power system of the RV park, it converts the 120V-ac power into 12V-dc power to supply things like your lights, furnace, water heater and refrigerator controls circuits as well as the fresh water pump. Your power cord supplies 120V-ac power like you use in a house to the RV and that then powers the converter, the TV, microwave, and all of the outlets in the RV. Some RVs have an inverter that can take power from the batteries and supply some of the 120V systems but usually only a few selected items. You can tell what you have by seeing if your TV will work when you are not plugged into shore power.