Financing for custom-built travel trailer

SMMQT

Hi all! First-time poster. I'm a musician and a writer working with a small design/build shop on a custom travel trailer that will let me work, record and put on pop-up shows on the road. Does anyone know of a lender who will finance custom builds? Even better, any that does construction loans (similar to construction-to-permanent mortgages)? I talked to Bank of the West (Essex) yesterday, and they said they definitely don't do construction loans and would need to check to see if they could work with the manufacturer (they usually only work with the big name brands) for financing on the final product. Has anyone financed a custom project before? It's technically possible to cover the cost of the trailer through the sale of my house (yep, the plan is to go full-time), but I wanted to finance half of it to have a sizable emergency cash buffer and spread out my risk. Thanks in advance for your wise advice!

When you say "custom built," do you mean you're going to construct the travel trailer yourself, or are you working with an RV manufacturer such as New Horizons or Spacecraft?

The latter should be no problem in finding a lender (we had a New Horizon fifth wheel that we got financing for).  The former, however, would be more difficult, if not impossible.

LindaH
2014 Winnebago Aspect 27K
2011 Kia Soul

1 hour ago, LindaH said:

When you say "custom built," do you mean you're going to construct the travel trailer yourself, or are you working with an RV manufacturer such as New Horizons or Spacecraft?

I wish I had the skills to build it myself : ) No, I'm working with Land Ark, who is designing and building the trailer. 

4 minutes ago, Kirk W said:

Your best bet is to talk to the bank where you have an established business relationship. For a construction loan you could borrow against your home equity.