Bonded versus Floating Generators

oldjohnt

Ive observed soooooooo much confusion all over the net (some of which is a lay persons opinion NOT any professional) as well as some here regarding the use of Generators for RV power and if they should be Bonded or Floating so I will try to shed some light on the subject.

1) Some smaller portable gensets are factory wired with a Floating others a Bonded Neutral FOR GOOD REASON !!!!!!!!!!!!!

2) A typical EMS type of device will throw a fault code if the RV is connected to a Floating genset so many Bond themselves (bonding jumper etc) so the EMS works.

3) A manufacturer may ??? advise against bonding based in part on advice from legal counsel  to avoid liability since in certain situations bonding would be in violation of the NEC (Im also an attorney so believe this)

4) In a typical application where the homeowner uses a plug and cord to backfeed his home panel upon a power outage he (after main breaker is off) plugs in a cord from the genset which effectively connects the gensets Neutral to the homes Neutral  (there can be ONLY ONE NG BOND) while the homes panel (unlike RV panel) already has a Neutral Ground Bond

THATS A SITUATION WHERE A FLOATING GENSET (NOTTTTTTTTTT A BONDED)  SHOULD BE USED !

5) Now for RV use which has a panel WITHOUT A NG BOND iffffffff a portable genset is used it should have a Bonded Neutral. The NEC calls for (portable set out gensets) bonding to a Grounding Electrode such as a driven rod SUBJECT to exceptions if portable pug n cord power tools are fed from onboard genny receptacles. To make it further complicated some OSHA regulations for construction gensets advise Bonding NG but NOTTTTTTTTTT connecting to a ground rod also for sound reasons.