Thunderbird--1 gmail account can't log on

Al F

HELP!!

I am running Thunderbird on windows 7. I have been using Thunderbird for 6-10 years. Thunderbird is up to date with upgrades. I am at 38.5.0

This afternoon I got this email to my alternate gmail account:

Hi Al,Someone just tried to sign in to your Google Account "xxxxxxx@gmail.com" from an app that doesn't meet modern security standards.

The above email came down to my thunderbird application to my alternate gmail account & folder.

The next time Thunderbird tried to connect to Gmail to bring down emails from the failing gmail account I get invalid password or user name. Also thunderbird prompts me to retry or enter new password. Even though I enter the correct password (I have tried many times) it still says invalid PW or username.

I am using the "pop" mail server where the emails download to my laptop.

I can log on to my gmail account from a web browser and my smart phone (although I don't normally access my email with my smart phone.

In thunderbird I saved my inbox and sent folders to a new folder and deleted from thunderbird the account which is having the problem.

When I try to add the just deleted gmail account in thunderbird as a "POP" mail server I get a message that the username or password is invalid.

However if I add the just deleted gmail account as an "IMAP" mail server it works find and I can see my emails.

Does anyone have suggestions????

Thanks.

Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G 
2020 Chevy Colorado Toad
San Antonio, TX

http://downtheroadaroundthebend.blogspot.com/

Fixed!!!!

Earlier today on my smart phone I was poking around and changed a setting for my google account. The setting is "Access for less secure apps".

I changed the setting to turn off the "Access for less secure apps".

I guess Google considers Thunderbird to be a "less secure app"!