New member intro

High Roller

Greetings RVers, this is my introductory post. I’m an RV newbie. I turned 50 last November and I anticipate retiring within a year, selling everything and hitting the road in 2016.

I started my foray into the RV life several months ago by reading several books that have given me a pretty good foundation of knowledge, and I’ve got a very good idea about how I want to live. But, I have no practical experience with RVing. Although I’ve seen plenty of RVs around and on the road (and of course, online pictures of interiors and floorplans), the first time I ever actually set foot inside an RV of any type was 48 hours ago at the RV show in Denver. The toy haulers I really liked at the show were Keystone Fuzion, Grand Designs Solitude, and 3 that I’d never heard of (Voltage, Momentum, Vengeance). A couple of other ones I’ve seen pics of that I like are Cedar Creek and Keystone Montana, but they didn’t have any toy haulers at the show. Do any of the ones I’ve mentioned stand out above the others in terms of reliability or quality? They all seemed really nice to me. I stepped inside a $650k class A and noted the upscale luxury, but I have no need (or the money) for that. The reps at the show were helpful, but I’m too clueless to even know what questions to ask or where to look for differentiating factors. My main purpose for going to the show was to see what the floor plans were like, and to find out what I liked and didn’t like about the various features. I won’t be buying anything probably until this time next year, so there are more shows to look forward to, including the one in California next October which I plan to attend.