New Guy seeking advice and a ride

BOB SESANNA

Hello all! I’m new to RVing. I did go with some friends on a couple of RV trips and I enjoyed it. I’d like to make some new friends and hit the road. I’d like to check the road out because I’m thinking of getting my own RV. I’m retired military living just outside of D.C. I spent a lot of time overseas and traveled everywhere but I’m ashamed to say I’ve never seen the Grand Canyon as well as many other places here in the states. Time to check things out. I’m a 62 year old male.  Other than that I can drive and exactly enjoy it. I figured I start here on this forum and go from here…Thanks Bob

Welcome, Bob, and thank you for your service. Are you planning to be a full-timer, or just take some extended vacations? I'd suggest that you spend some time thinking about what you eventually want to do. It took us several years of talking and researching before we were ready to buy something as a learner, and another two years before we bought our current coach.

Keep in mind that you will have something towing something else, unless you go with a motor home (MH) and a bicycle or motorcycle for your running around. If you go with a MH, as we did, you can tow a car or truck for the running around. If you go with a travel trailer, aka bumper pull, (TT) or a fifth-wheel (5'er) you will most likely be towing with a truck. Unless you get a converted semi as the tow vehicle and put a Smart Car or similar on it, that truck will be your daily driver.