Initial Pre-Purchase Inspection

Sky King76

Greetings All,

The wife and I have picked out a 2018 Forest River Class C that just shy of 26’. It’s currently owned by a friend of a friend who lives a couple miles away. The unit looks well cared for but as an ole test pilot I want an inspection, which is fine with the owner. He’s even going to let us rent it for a few days to make sure we like RV life. Have you found it best to have an independent NRVIA inspector do it or a big box shop? There is a Camping World about 10 minutes away with the biggest American flag I’ve ever seen. Just think an independent inspector would be best but have zero experience with any RV business. Will the NRVIA inspector be equally competent on the E450 itself or do I need an auto mechanic as well? As a bonus, anyone know a good inspector in south Jersey?

Thanks so much and I hope after gaining some knowledge to help others as time goes by😀

4 hours ago, Sky King76 said:

Have you found it best to have an independent NRVIA inspector do it or a big box shop?

Camping World sells RVs so there is no incentive to help you buy from someone else, but they might be able to sell you something if the one you are paying them to inspect should fail! A mobile RV tech could check out the RV part but not the chassis. A trained RV inspector should evaluate both and has no reason to be less than honest. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

Funny Kirk…

Yep…I’m calling two local NRVIA inspectors today. I actually saw a series of videos from RV Masters late yesterday where in one, the guy says the big box stores may not even work on an RV because it wasn’t purchased there! I know when you take a car to the dealership they’ll service it…for a price. What happens on the road if you have to get service and you didn’t buy it there? Sits for weeks? Months?