Securing door

groran

Hello, we are going to dry camp soon and most of the time. I can't help worrying about meth heads, drug heads popping my rv door and being inside before I can even get out of bed to shoot them. I thought about installing L brackets and put a 2x4 across it kind of like a fence gate, but I would have to remove the screen door and it won't be pretty with the brackets . Any suggestions? Of course my door opens out. I have a Fleetwood 5th wheel, thanks

4 hours ago, groran said:

I can't help worrying about meth heads, drug heads popping my rv door and being inside before I can even get out of bed to shoot them

Where do you plan to do this dry camping, the slums of large cities? 

2 hours ago, pjstough said:

perhaps boondocking is not for you.

Agreed! I have been using RVs for nearly 50 years and have stayed in many remote areas as well as larger cities but in all of that time I have never had anything like the experiences that you are afraid of. We lived in our class A for 12 continuous years, and have never known of anyone who had that sort of problem either, 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

We boondock quite a bit and just lock the door. Your best deterrent is a dog, any dog. Thieves like silence and a small yappy rat dog works just as well as a Rottweiler to sound off.

Other than that, yes, I do carry and keep personal protection with me all the time and am more than prepared to use it if necessary.

Unlike some on here, I would rather be protected and not need it than need it and not have it. Just being in a remote location doesn't guarantee that you will not have late night visitors of the 2 or 4 legged variety.

Edited by GeorgiaHybrid

2017 Kenworth T680
2015 DRV 38RSSA Elite Suites
2016 Smart Prime