Network Engineer seeking to improve wifi experience for campers

twelch

So one of the biggest drawbacks to life on the road to me seems to be internet. I'm a professional network engineer who's 100% remote, currently working for Cisco. Starlink gets it done for me most days, but i long for something better.

I'm curious how much of a market there might be out there for a guy with my particular skill set. I've done extensive work with GPON (fiber to the home) and service provider networks. It would be a slam dunk in my opinion, and not that terribly expensive, to have GPON to every pad. Everybody gets their own router or plain ethernet connection if you wanna go all out. Any campgrounds out there that have conduit in the ground that could be used/reused for this? Microtrenching is another option, or even aerial. It's doable in almost any environment. I personally wonder why this doesn't already exist.

So that's my question.. how many campgrounds out there have crappy wifi and would be willing to do it right? Is there a market? How many camgrounds would jump at the chance for expert help or a canned GPON solution?

Tim

Less than 45% of US households have access to fiber.  Given that most campgrounds are not located in urban areas, I doubt that fiber is available to the vast majority.  In my dozen years of full time RV'ing, I don't remember staying in a campground that even had access to cable internet, much less fiber.

Unless I'm misunderstanding your proposal, I don't think it would be either a "slam dunk" or "not terribly expensive".

https://www.fiercetelecom.com/broadband/fba-report-43-us-households-now-have-access-fiber

Edited by durangodon