DOT inspection

Rotorhead

Hello All,

I have been meaning to ask for sometime but kept forgetting. Do any of you keep your DOT inspection current? I was going to but I don't think I need to since my rig is registered as a private truck. Since I am still new to the HDT, one year now, I still have questions.

Thoughts?

Chuck

3 minutes ago, jkoenig24 said:

As long as there is NO "commercial use" you shouldn't need a DOT inspection. Be careful though. It IS possible to "cross the line" and use your rig for something considered "commercial".

Roger that. I'll keep my toes on my side of the line. Thanks, I appreciate the information.

You can do it yourself, following the federal guidelines and recording each item checked and it's condition.

That said, even though we're not required to have it, it's not a bad idea to really know your unit is in safe operating order.

KW T-680, POPEMOBILE
Newmar X-Aire, VATICAN
Lots of old motorcycles, Moto Guzzi Griso and Spyder F3 currently in the front row
Young enough to play in the dirt as a retired farmer.
contact me at rickeieio1@comcast.net

11 minutes ago, rickeieio said:

You can do it yourself, following the federal guidelines and recording each item checked and it's condition.

That said, even though we're not required to have it, it's not a bad idea to really know your unit is in safe operating order.

That's for sure. I have been keeping my cars in great running condition for 40 years now. I don't want to be stuck on the side of the road when I can hopefully prevent it with good maintenance. 

Thanks for the information. It's always great to acquire more. 

I have my truck DOT inspected every spring when I have it serviced at my buddy's shop.  It's not needed, but it's good peace of mind.

Av8r3400
2012 Volvo VNL 730 D13 iShift & 2021 Grand Design Momentum 397TH

TEq81qV.jpg

I'd rather die trying to live - Than live trying not to die.   -Leonard Perry