Disabled Unemployed Veteran needs information and advice about full time RV living

Cafetom

Hello All,

I am a disabled unemployed veteran.  I can not keep up with my home, both payments and care, so I am considering full time RV living.  I have a bit of savings, about 100K, to purchase my very first RV.  I have rented them previously, and found them adequate for short term living.  They were small gas RV's. 

I am planning/hoping to make this my permanent home.  Probably in Texas.  I do plan to travel in it quite often, during the summer, but probably park it for the winter in the south.  I am looking at Class A diesel pushers, and also making sure it is 4 seasons.  I am very handy and can fix many things, but do not want to buy one that needs a lot of work at least for the first year.

So here are my questions.  Please feel free to add your suggestions or concerns.

Private Party or Dealer?  I think I can save money from a private party.  However, the big risk is in the honesty of the private party, along with they ability to know what needs to be done and how to take care of an RV.  I have personally seen RV's that people have said they were immaculate, but not according to my standards.  I not sure the standards of many others either.  I don't know if they were simply lying or they have a different definition of immaculate.    I went to see one that they said was "perfect" only to find that the engine was bad, really bad.  So part of me says that if I buy a used RV, and have to put 10k in it just to get it in great shape, why not just goto a dealer who has already gone through it.  Then there are others who will say that dealers will do the same thing.  They will get an RV in and do the bare minimum to hide anything that needs to be fixed or repaired at a later date.  

I'd like to find one that simply didn't get used and someone willing to be a bit philanthropic so that I can have a home.  :)