Tow Bar Question

NCMEDIC

I am new to class A RVs, but not to RVs in general.   I'm planning to purchase our future vehicle ( Wrangler) and get it set up for towing before we start the motorhome search in earnest.  

This might sound like a simplistic question, but are towbars universal?  In other words, if I buy Roadmaster base plates, and the RV we get has a BlueOx tow bar, will they be compatible?  I'd really be in the doghouse with the "CFO" if I wasted the money on baseplates that don't work.

Thanks in advance.

25 minutes ago, Barbaraok said:

The hitch on the RV will accept whatever connection you have for the car.   So it is your choice as th what you put on your car.  

Unless it is a ball hitch. If, so you'll want to replace it anyway.

Linda

Blog: http://sandcastle.sandsys.org/

Former Rigs: Liesure Travel van, Winnebago View 24H, Winnebago Journey 34Y, Sportsmobile Sprinter conversion van

When making brand/system decisions, consider first whether you will be installing yourself or hiring another to do so.  If you're hiring out this work, it would probably be wise to ask for the brand that they are the most experienced with.  You won't want them learning on your vehicle.  (Like mine did.)

21 minutes ago, Darryl&Rita said:

And a Roadmaster tow bar won't connect to Blue Ox baseplates.

I believe that there are now adapters made so if the car has one base plate there is away to use the other's arms.   I believe they are third party items.  

Barb & Dave O'Keeffe
2002 Alpine 36 MDDS (Figment II), 2018 Ford C-Max HYBRID
Blog: http://www.barbanddave.net
SPK# 90761 FMCA #F337834

3 hours ago, Barbaraok said:

There are ball hitches that will slide into RV 479f82d5-5303-4355-bffb-71f0cc61c08c_1.e

Correct. And the new base plate on his car will not connect to it. So he'll need a new hitch on the RV.

Linda

Blog: http://sandcastle.sandsys.org/

Former Rigs: Liesure Travel van, Winnebago View 24H, Winnebago Journey 34Y, Sportsmobile Sprinter conversion van