Seeking advice on vehicular homes— truck campers, vans, or ambulances.

yetidogs

Hi all,

Seeking advice on vehicular homes—truck campers, vans, or ambulances.

I split time between Colorado and Vermont, every 3-4 months. It's hard to find apartments for such short time periods, so I'm looking toward portable homes. With these climates, I will need to stay warm. I will need a kitchen and bathroom (toilet + shower). I am a videographer and will need to charge a lot of batteries and a computer.

I have no mechanical, plumbing, or electrical skills/experience. I do have experience building furniture. I can drive manual.

Before I get to searching for deals, I want to know exactly what I’m looking for. I have a maximum budget of $35K— conversion and all.

If I go the truck + camper route, I will want a Dodge Ram 2500, year 1994-2002 (2nd Gen Cummins). They are durable and reliable. I would also want a non-slideout camper, but I don’t know anything about the brands/models. What is the best truck camper under $15,000?

On the ambulance and van side, I know nothing. I am cautious about leaning that way, as they will require conversions, but I know once converted they have their benefits. 

What model van is best? I want a solid engine, not something that will break down often. Diesel? Ram ProMaster looks like a solid choice. 

Ambulances… not a clue. I am biased toward Cummins engines, and I’ve seen some Ram 4500 Ambulances that look beautiful. What ambulance models do you recommend?

Overall, which route would you recommend? Would love to hear the internet’s advice.

Other concerns: MPG, insulation, storage, height (low bridges in VT), drivability/maneuverability (tight winding roads, high speed high ways, etc.).

Welcome to the Escapee forums! We are here to help and will do our best.