Beginner going on a road trip

Hi, everyone!

I am very new to this subject but I’m tech savvy so I hope I’ll get good results here. 
I am going on 5 week road trip across USA in suv with a girl who works from home. I have T-Mobile iPhone XR and she has Verizon unlimited plan iPhone XR. 
We will be a lot on the highway and then visiting national parks. 
her work is emailing, calling, texting and video conferencing. 
If I succeed with my connectivity project I will be able to extend my trip for a long time. That’s a lot of fun :)

What equipment or technologies should I explore to have reliable service? 

You need to invest in a WeBoost cell phone booster with the directional antenna.  Even with this set up you can easily be in areas with very weak to no cell signal.  Another expensive option is a satellite phone.

Ken

Amateur radio operator, 2023 Cougar 22MLS, 2022 F150 Lariat 4x4 Off Road, Sport trim <br />Travel with 1 miniature schnauzer, 1 standard schnauzer and one African Gray parrot

Bear in mind that, as a general rule, "unlimited" plans rarely apply to hotspot data.  They almost always apply to "data from the phone".  (The phones know how you're using it.)

To spend the good money, this is what we used:
https://www.mobilemusthave.com/Ultimate-Road-Warrior-Bundle-with-Poynting_p_168.html
(Currently, we only have AT&T but are adding Verizon soon.)

Changing Lanes has a video on their installation, which very similar to ours. 

MyRVRadio - Streaming online 24/7 at MyRVRadio.com and via mobile apps! Content for RVers from RVers.   2018 Grand Design Momentum 399TH • 2019 Ford F-350 (DRW)
2016 Harley-Davidson Heritage • 2013 Harley Sportster with a sidecar
Web: https://MyRVRadio.com • Facebook: https://fb.com/MyRVRadio  

Check your plans for hotspot limits since it sounds like you will be using a computer in addition to the phones.  Video conferencing uses lots of data.  An iPad with its own unlimited data plan might be something to look at.