Trucks Batteries

bigredhdt

Let me start with the fact  that I am not a battery expert.  Under ideal conditions, with brand new batteries at full charge you could probably do it, the issue you run into is when your batteries get a bit older, and the weather gets a bit colder, the harder you draw from the batteries the more quickly they will die.  So while technically probably could start your truck with 2 batteries the lifespan will be much shorter, and on top of that you will have much cushion.

My little phart Kenworth dually has a Cummins 8.3 engine with 2x group 31 1000CCA batteries. It has an electric manifold pre heater for starting when coolant temp is cold. I run 15w40 engine oil and preheat the coolant and oil pan with a Webasto heater (the heater exhaust is pointed at the oil sump) when it is colder than 32F/0C.  It has no "parasitic draws" except for the clock when the engine is not running. There are no inverters or other non automotive loads connected to the them. I disconnect the batteries when parking it for more than a couple weeks, and charge the batteries with a "smart" battery charger every 2 months or so when in storage. The batteries are over 6 years old and going fine.  Paccar brand from your local KW or Peterbilt dealer.

"Are we there yet?" asked no motorcycle rider, ever. 

I agree with all of the above responses.

IMO, one battery of the type originally installed in your truck is good enough most of the time.   The problem for most of us, is that a 10% risk of being unable to start our truck is not acceptable.   My 12.7L truck was ordered with 3 batteries and seems to work well for me.

Why do you want to use fewer batteries?

Volvo 770, New Horizons Majestic and an upcoming Smart car