Size of cable for solar system.

Voltage? If 12V then 4 O, as in four zero guage, is not unreasonable.

I use 2 O within the battery bank, four 8D deep cycle AGM at 225AH, and 4 O through fuse and switch to inverter on plus side and 4 O to ground through current shunt.  My system is "24V" which means we operate a float voltage of 27 V.  Magnum 4000 is the inverter/charger with solar worth about 25amps at max charge.

When these batteries fail then it is some kind of lithium battery for us. 

There calculation sites for cable sizing based on current and length of the cable run. Remember the longest run defines the cable diameter.

Bill

Bill & Lynn Baxter

MCI102A3 Conversion, Detroit Diesel S50  

dolphins.jpgVisitedStatesMap.jpgVisitedProvincesMap.jpg

Bob, I'm NOT a Solar Expert but a long retired power distribution design engineer so for what its worth here is my "opinion":

1) 2000/12 = 166 amps EVEN IF YOU NEVER ACTUALLY USE THAT MUCH.. not accounting for inefficiency and heat losses

2) When I practiced (pursuant to the NEC at that time) to size a conductor after we calculated the "Maximum Continuous Current" we specified the conductor have an ampacity of no less then 125% MCC and 1.25 x 166 = 207 Amps. I cant say from here your MCC, its likely less then 166 

3)  FIRST I would recommend NO LESS THEN 2/0 Copper even though its unlikely you ever draw that full rated amount.

4) SECOND I would compute the line voltage drop based on current and wire size and distance and if necessary (or to be on the safe conservative side to reduce voltage drop) upgrade to even 4/0. I don't like over 3% drop better yet 1% on the conservative side.

NOTICE you don't have to take my word for it I'm long retired so in order to draw your own conclusions here are some Blue Sea Systems and other references relevant to wire size and voltage drop etc.

Part 1: Choosing the Correct Wire Size for a DC Circuit - Blue Sea Systems

dc cable ampacity chart - Bing

Voltage Drop Calculator