How Heavy of Trailor Can I Tow

RV2300

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to RVing.  I am trying to figure out how heavy of trailer I can comfortably tow.  We are a family of four with dogs and will be taking the trailer on flat land and mountains.  We will be pulling with a Chevy Tahoe with max trailing package.  The tow rating is 8400 lbs and the GCWR is 14,000.  The weight of vehicle is 5569 (14,000 - 5,569 = 8,431).  I am trying to figure out the maximum trailer weight (either the UVW or the GVWR) I can comfortably tow and should be researching trailers under that weight amount.  There is a lot of conflicting information out there .  Thank you in advance!

There are two main issues I see. One is you will rarely be hauling that trailer empty so the stuff you put into it and your tow vehicle needs to be considered. The second is that stopping that trailer is as important as towing it which is why it is important to not load to maximum towing capability.

I suspect someone else will be along soon to help you with the numbers but I hope you think about those two things during your calculations.

Linda

Blog: http://sandcastle.sandsys.org/

Former Rigs: Liesure Travel van, Winnebago View 24H, Winnebago Journey 34Y, Sportsmobile Sprinter conversion van

With a Bumper Pull Trailer you kind of watch your weight distribution.  Bumper weight is important

Looking at "RV Flips & Bursts into Fire" listed this morning on the General RV Information suggests there may have been an overload on the rear of the Trailer. Bad scene.

Clay

Clay & Marcie Too old to play in the snow

Diesel pusher and previously 2 FW and small Class C

I suspect you will run out of payload long before you run out of towing capacity.