Questions for Software Devs working from their RV

thundersnow

Hello,
I am a software dev, and looking at doing the fulltime RV thing.

I have a lot of questions.

Is this is a possible thing with the current mobile internet offerings. (PLEASE Starlink hurry)

So with my current work flow, i need to remotely connect to databases , AWS , and linux servers

Is anyone on this list doing something like this in their RV?

What has been your experience. Is this possible? What equipment are you using?

Thanks for any help/Information

Hi thundersnow, welcome!

I spent almost two years as a devops engineer and much of that remote.  Really more of a deployment engineer but now we're splitting hairs :).

The key was managing bandwidth  - Working with github/bitbucket, Ansible Tower, Jenkins, etc was no issue, all worked fine even over 4g cellular.

SQL though I found it helpful to have a jump box close to the source.  We did some fun stuff with CloudFormation that would deploy a linux version of MSSQL in EC2 and then load the dbs from NFS.  Way to slow to try that remote - keep the data in the cloud/data center and just issue commands across the slow connection.  We also used CloudFormation to deploy EC2 workstations for using things like SQL Management Studio, again, keeping it close to the actual data.  The modern versions of RDP are more efficient than ever and work well when piped through an RDGateway.

2017 Jayco Designer 37rs "Fiona"

2007 Volvo 670 "Henry"

@rollinbrain , thanks for the info
I think my biggest concern is running locally and connecting to a remote DB. 

What did you use for cellular hardware? did you use multiple vendors?  I do not think i have to rdp to anything (thank goodness),  most will be SSH

So when looking for a place to stay, were there times you had to bail because of bad coverage or where there anythings you did to kind of "pre-survey" where you were headed.

Thanks again for your info.