Insurance - again....

aknavy

So, background - I'm currently a resident of Florida, and we can't register HDT's as RV's here.  Truck I have been pursuing is a 2001 Volvo 660, converted/singled/currently titled as motorhome in Ky.  Can only register in Florida as a truck for personal use.

Also explored registering truck in South Dakota with a few insurance companies. 

Have talked to Miller, FCIS, Good Sam, Dougherty and Associates, and several others in my quest to get insurance.  I'd prefer to get insurance that allows bobtail use, and thought I had that solved thru Good Sam/National General.  Until I actually called to start the policy earlier this month, only to be told that National General would not give more than liability coverage to a truck over 20 years old.  In December, I could have got the policy, but not now.  And the coverage would not have been renewable.

Back to the drawing board - all other companies want to do the typical insurance that covers the truck when towing the fifth wheel, but no bobtail for anything other than maintenance/gas.

A couple companies offered Commercial for personal use, but the cost is quite a bit higher - over $2k/year.  I've also been told that if I had a commercial policy on other vehicles, it would be easy/cheap to add a personal use policy. 

I'd be ok with liability + comprehensive coverage I think, but not just liability.  Too many things that can go wrong.

So, it seems that either I find a newer truck, or I just accept that I can't drive bobtail with this truck.  You guys that have bobtail coverage, I'm jealous!  I can't seem to get it done, and I'm tired of talking to insurance agents.

2001 VNL 660

2018 DRV Fullhouse JX450

2018 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

Call Lazy Days RV near Tampa.  That's who we went with for Progressive insurance.  No bob tail restrictions, and I can pull any non-commercial trailer.  They did require both truck and trailer on the policy.  Been with them 10 years so far.