What kind of batteries? AGM?

My newly-purchased 2017 Freedom Elite is at an RV service center where I'm getting some minor repairs and upgrades. One upgrade the service manager suggested was to get a 2nd house battery, as this only has one, the original. I said okay, then he called a few hours later and said both batteries need to be the same type and age. So I'd have to buy 2. Correct?

Second question: he wants to know if I want to get the same kind of battery, resulting in 220 watt hours (?) total but shorter lifespan, or get 2 AGM batteries, resulting in 145 watt hours total, but longer lifespan The 2 AGM batteries would be about 50% more expensive. I asked him to hold off and let me do some research ... thoughts?

I am a newbie so I'm not exactly sure what kind of batteries to get. But new sounds good, and 2 sounds better than one. I do plan on doing some boondocking on occasion. But in that case I'd be running the generator, right? And that would power up the batteries?

My inclination is to go with the less expensive, higher watt hours one. My guess is that in a couple years I'll want to change batteries to some other type entirely.  

Thanks for any advice....

AM

2018 Forest River Sunseeker 2290SC
25 feet, Chevy Express 4500
"Angie" (short for Angel)

It's amp hours, and if at all possible get the AGM.  That said, that's a bit light on the amp-hours.  If that's the only AGMs he has, shop around (online perhaps) and get bigger ones. You really want to be in the 200+ amp-hr range.

You'll thank yourself later for more up-front cost you don't have to worry about corrosion or watering. If you really have some bucks, Lithium is wonderful.

Edited by hemsteadc