What to check on the RV before the first trip

gothic

Hi,

We just bought Class A RV and wondering what needs to be checked before first trip. It is 2002 Itasca Sunova on Workhorse chassis. Since I'm very new to RVing I desperately need your advices :) I have some experience with light car fixes and somehow handy, so prefer to start with something I can do myself before hitting professional shop. Here are few thing I would start:

1. Oil and other liquids check
  2. Brakes - is it possible to check on my own? 
  3. Tires - do you recommend to install TPMS?
  4. Thinking to replace stock anti-sway bar since they started to use 2 1/2" from 2003 - does it worth the effort? 
  5. How to check if I need new shocks? 

I think somewhere should be a good checklist for this kind of things, appreciate if you can point me there. Thanks! 

All belts, filters, and fluids should be REPLACED.  You need to know what you are starting with and the best way is to start fresh!

Batteries, what is their age and what is their electrolyte status - check with a hydrometer, then make sure they are filled.

Tires - how old are they?  If older than 7 years replace.  Otherwise, make sure they are filled to the proper amount based upon the weight of your coach.  You have had it weighed, right?   If not, that's another To-Do for your list.

Wait until you've driven it a little bit to see what the shocks/sway-bar feel like.

Check your electrical cord for any sign of discoloration.  Check water hose for leakage around fittings.  Check waste hoses to any pinholdes.

You do have a multimeter, correct?   If not, get one.

Toilet, does the bowl hold water.  If not, think about getting the dump seal replace.

Water pump, does it easily move water around and shut off when you close the faucet.  If it keeps going, you've got a small leak somewhere. 

That should get you started.

Barb & Dave O'Keeffe
2002 Alpine 36 MDDS (Figment II), 2018 Ford C-Max HYBRID
Blog: http://www.barbanddave.net