Crater Lake Oregon

Martin

So I am starting a journey across the country. I am fairly new to this and trying to figure it out. I am starting in northern California and I have reservations at a private campground at lake Shasta. Next I want to go to Crater Lake National Park - but I find it very confusing. I want to stay for a week or 2 in late July, but apparently the national park does not take reservations for the sites for hookups. They tell me it is first come, first serve.

I have a 35 foot 5th wheel. I am afraid that if I show up there, I will not be able to get a site and then what do I do?

Any suggestions?

Does anyone have any experience with the national park campgrounds at Crater Lake?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

I checked and Mazama Village CG takes reservations in July, August and September for 75% of the sites the other 25% are first come just like all gov sites in the US. Call 866 292-6720 to check availability but for that time of year the reservable sites may already reserved.

Denny 

Denny & Jami SKP#90175
Most Timing with Mac our Scottie, RIP Jasper our Westie
2013 F350 SC DRW 6.2 V8 4.30 Gears
2003 HH Premier 35FKTG Home Base Nebraska

I called them and the agent told me that they do not take reservations for any of the sites that have utilities. Maybe the agent I had on the phone was mistaken or misinformed, because it didn't make sense. How risky would it be to go to Mazama CG on a first come / first serve basis?

2 minutes ago, Martin said:

How risky would it be to go to Mazama CG on a first come / first serve basis?

I can only tell you that arriving right at check-out time on Sunday gives you the best odds at any first come place as the weekenders are generally leaving then. But, you can often call a campground before you go and ask them what their current status is to give you a better idea of that particular time and place.

Linda

Blog: http://sandcastle.sandsys.org/