12 Volt Impact on Tank Sensors and LP/CO Detectors

I am not an electrician..but decided to replace LP and CO detector with combined unit because both were occasionally chirping and about 5 years old. I cut the wires on the LP detector intending to leave it in place but off. Before installing the new combined LP/CO unit I noticed my waste tank lights up front are not lit. The water pump light on the same front panel does work. Should disabling one of the 12V detector wires in the read impact the tank sensors up front? I will install the combined unit today after I get some fresh crimper connections, but wonder if I somehow caused the tank lights to die. It seems a puzzlement.

Hank
SKP 67414
2005 Mandalay DP
2012 Honda CRV

Hank & Joyce

2019 Phoenix Cruiser 3100

2012 Honda CRV

3 hours ago, hanknjoycew said:

Should disabling one of the 12V detector wires in the read impact the tank sensors up front?

It just depends on how the various parts of the RV get power and where you cut the wires. The LP detectors and CO detectors that I have installed or worked on have all used wire nuts to connect them into the 12V system and it usually is a common connection point with anything else nearby that uses 12V power and/or a chassis ground return lead. That same thing is true for the combo units. If it matters, I am a 40-year electrical maintenance tech with 30+ years of RV experience.  I find this interesting as I just a few months ago did the opposite and replaced a combo unit with two separate ones. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI