Understanding BTUs

TherapyBound

Total newbie question, but we're in the process of comparing two Class A gas motorhomes of similar size (more on that in a moment), and while most specs are clear to me, I'm unsure about the difference in their air conditioner and heater BTUs, which are significant (I think).

Motorhome A's length is 36.83 ft (8.46 wide, 6.67 interior height) and the automatic air conditioner BTUs total 17,000, while automatic heater is 40,000 BTUs.

Motorhome B's length is 36.25 ft (8.5 wide, 7ft interior height) and the automatic air conditioner BTUs total 30,000, while automatic heater is 34,000 BTUs.

At this point I don't know any more about the brands/etc, but why such a big difference in similar sized rigs, and which would you say is most effective and efficient (if it's possible to tell using only those stats)?

First impressions say the 2nd MH has better total cooling and nearly as good heating; however, insulation ratings and double--pane windows play a huge role in cooling or heating any MH. It sounds like the 1st MH has one air conditioner and the 2nd MH has two air conditioners; which begs the question, what time of year do you anticipate doing  most camping?

2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA ." And so, my fellow Americans: ask not what your country can do for you--ask what you can do for your country.  John F. Kennedy 20 Jan 1961

Most "full-size" roof-mounted RV A/C's are rated at 15,000 btu, though there are quite a few rated 13,500 .  It sounds like the first rig you are looking at has a single unit (though the 17,000 btu is a bit of a puzzle) while the second has two, 15,000 btu units. Our similar sized (35') fifth-wheel has a single 15,000 btu A/C and has worked fine for us, but we carefully avoid hot summer climates. If we were to stay in the south during summer we would definitely add the second A/C, which we are pre-wired for.