Okay, who wrote this blog??

Jaydrvr

In the never ending debate between LGTs and HDTs, there was a reference some time ago to a blog by someone who experienced an absolute nightmare trying to survive a mountain grade in a pickup truck while pulling a fifth wheel. I remember they spent much of the afternoon part way down letting the brakes cool and then crept on down, finding out later that their brakes were completely destroyed. I'd like to pass this on to a newbie friend, but I haven't been able to find it, even though I've searched back over four years. I'm sure someone smarter than me can point the way.. TIA, Jay

While I have no experience with HDT's, my experience with pickup trucks that are pulling trailers that are not beyond the published capabilities of the pickup truck, is that it is the fault of the driver not knowing how to drive in the mountains, more so than the capabilities of the truck.

Note, in no way do I mean to say that the HDT is not much, much better and safer at pulling the heavy trailers.  Just that the pickup truck, as long as it is not overloaded will pull and stop the load w/o damage to the truck. 

Specifically, going downhill, SLOW DOWN, GEAR DOWN and let the engine do the majority of the braking.  That may mean you are going 25-30mph in 2nd gear, but this way you are not damaging the brakes in the truck.

Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G 
2020 Chevy Colorado Toad
San Antonio, TX

http://downtheroadaroundthebend.blogspot.com/

All sounds good in theory but when someone pulls in front of you, you don't have the luxury of just going slow and gearing down. That is what gets me about all the truck specs.

2002 Beaver Marquis Emerald   C-12 Cat 505 HP

2014 Volvo 630 D-13 I Shift SOLD

2017 New Horizons SOLD

3 hours ago, Dan Johnson said:

All sounds good in theory but when someone pulls in front of you, you don't have the luxury of just going slow and gearing down. That is what gets me about all the truck specs.