Truck and RV question for mountains

mark1958

I am new to the RV way of vacations and to this site. if I put this in the wrong place, please tell me.  I have a 2015 ram 2500 with 6.7 diesel and a 38 foot 5th wheel with a dry weight of 10600 lbs. My wife and I are planning a trip to Yellowstone from Louisiana and I have had people telling me I need more truck or a smaller camper to make this trip with the mountains that I will encounter. I have only been in flatter land with some good steep hills. Any help will be appreciated.

First, dry weight really means nothing.  You need to load your truck and trailer up like you are going to travel and then get actual weights of both.  You can do this at a truck stop with a Cat scale.  You want the total combination weight, the trailer axle weight, and the truck weight by itself.  With this information, you can calculate the pin weight of the trailer.  You get these weights by running across the scales loaded and hooked up.  The scales will be divided to allow you to put the truck front axle on one pad, the truck rear axle on another pad and the trailer axles on a third pad.  Get this weight, then go drop the trailer in the lot and go back across the scales with just the truck.  With these two weight tickets (for less than $20) you can get the above weights.  With that information in hand, we can give you a much better answer to your question.

You may be fine with your 2500, or you may be marginal or even over loaded, but without the actual weights we can't say.  I can tell you I have towed with a 2500 and with a 3500 dual rear wheel (with the same trailer in the approximate weight range you describe) and the dual rear wheel was night and day difference in stability and handling, but both did the job.  It is all about the weights and the weight ratings of your equipment.

2000 Kenworth T2000 w/ Cummins N14 and autoshift
2017 DRV Mobile Suite 40KSSB4 with factory mods, dealer mods and personal mods - now in the RV graveyard