deep cycle battery maintenance

Hello everyone

What is the best way to check the water levels on deep cycle batteries ? Do I disconnect them ( whether or not they need water refill ) ? Or just shut off the electricity from the hookup ? do I use bottled water or has to be distilled water to refill  ( if necessary )  ? I am new to this so any tips will help, thanks a lot

Anytime I "seriously" check a battery I prefer them to be stabilized and at rest having been disconnected from loads and chargers several minutes,  that's because I might be taking an accurate voltage reading and at times using a hydrometer on each cell. Sure, you can simply pop the caps and look see to insure electrolyte level is above the plates in each cell, that's about all there is too it, I still advise you to turn off any loads and charger first, but the battery itself need not be removed or cables disconnected just to check levels. 

If under a high charge a battery can be outgassing and/or bubbling/boiling a bit which isn't a good time to be looking down and messing with them and ESPECIALLY don't have any sparks nearby !!!!!!!!!!! That's explosive gas coming out the top !!!!!!!!!!!  If any one cell is much lower or is off colored (maybe gray or milky) from the rest it's suspect. I always use DISTILLED water to top off any cells. For hard to reach and hard to view wet cell batteries I invested in a Fill Pro (or whatever its called) system so I don't have to remove any caps. Use caution remember that electrolyte is acidic and can burn skin and leaves holes in your clothes..........   If you're in there with a wrench disconnecting a battery I always remove the Grounded (NEG on most all vehicles) cable FIRST and disconnect loads and chargers.............

John T