Winter Travel

TruckingEla

Hello, I'm a newbie who's chosen a life of RVing head first. I'm travelling with a Colorado pick up and a 6x10 cargo trailer (which needs to be outfitted with solar etc etc).

I'll be travelling from Ontario to Arizona in the next few days and would like some advice on the best routes. Since I'm new to the towing business, I would like to avoid challenging winter weather and challenging terrains as much as possible. My ultimate goal is to get to Arizona for March, so I have a lot of time.

Any suggestions?

Hi, TruckingEla i can't speak to your routing but i will advise you to get an interactive weather app like "Weather Street". You need to keep an eye on the weather when in the snow belt. It is much better to plan a stay in a motel for a day or two than to be surprised by a nasty snow storm or ice storm like what is happening in KS or OK. Money spent on a motel is better than on a towtruck. Be safe and enjoy!

2004 Freightliner m2 106  2015 DRV lx450 Fullhouse  2019 Indian Springfield 2014 Yamaha 950 V-Star

Many C.G's do not recognize cargo trailers as Rv's and do not permit them. Check ahead first.

Helen and I are long timers ..08 F-350 Ford,LB,CC,6.4L,4X4, Dually,4:10 diff dragging around a 2013 Montana 3402 Big Sky

SKP 100137. North Ridgeville, Ohio in the summer, sort of and where ever it is warm in the winter.

Ah, the wonderful world of advice. There are many great suggestions. I have learned that I need to hone up my map reading. telecomunication skills big time. There's so much to learn.

Am I right to assume that the 1 day of travelling from T.O. south could be extremely hairy. However, once you pass the snow belt area it's safe.

Any comments?

Make no assumptions . Specially this time of year . Weather can be unforgiving as far South as the gulf coast , with little warning .

It helps a great deal to be very familiar with national and local weather . Find a reputable site . I like :