Hot water from cold faucet

Ronbo

We are in Phoenix I devoting chemotherapy. We have been having very warm water coming from the cold faucet. Almost as hot as the hot water. For a while I thought it was because it was so warm here and the pipes were shallow. I turned off the water heater and it was much improved. After a couple days it got on the tepid side. We had to turn on water heater for our shower and turn it off for cold water laundry. I ordered a check valve from Amazon. Less than $11.00. I installed it on the cold water side tonight. Removed the nipple that was in there and installed the check valve. It is a good thing I have a battery powered impact wrench because I couldn't remove the nipple with a socket and ratchet. I just took my shower and it was really nice to be able to adjust the temperature again.

Ron C.

2013 Dynamax Trilogy 3850 D3

2000 Kenworth T2000 Optimus Prime

Howdy Ronbo,

Congrats on fixing the issue yourself!

Me, as a complete novice in RV inner workings, I'm reading your post and trying to learn. What I can't understand is how you could install a check valve (which, as I understand it, has two ends) in the place of a nipple (which I understand covers a single end). Can you please explain?

I'm sorry if this is a stupid question (as it almost certainly it is).

Thanks in advance,

--

Vall.

Getting ready to join the RV full-time lifestyle in 2017!

A nipple is threaded on both ends. The check valve has an insert inside that is the check valve. Unscrew the nipple and screw in the check valve, which is essentially a nipple.

Here is a link to the check valve.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HJ6P184/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Ron C.