VIN date vs manufacture date and warranty

roberthart6650

I am new to RVing and purchasing a used RV from a dealer.

The unit I am purchasing is a 2015 model. The chassis is made by Chevy and has a 36,000/3 Year warranty. Given that it is a 2015 model I assume it has around two years left on the chassis warranty. However, when I did a CarFax search using the VIN it says it was manufactured in 2014 and when I go to the Chevy web site and request warranty information it indicates the warranty started April 2014 and ends April 2017.

I raised the concern that the warranty starts in 2014 with the RV dealer. The RV dealer is telling me that RVs work differently as the chassis is often manufactured ahead of the motorhome and the warranty starts with the manufacture of the motorhome. He said the title and registration shows the motorhome was manufactured 2015 and the warranty for the chassis will start in 2015.

Anyone able to confirm either way what the dealer is telling me?

I bought a new Class B motorhome with a Chevy chassis and the Chevy warranty started on the date I took delivery. Manufactured date was 13 months earlier.

Everybody wanna hear the truth, but everybody tell a lie.  Everybody wanna go to Heaven, but nobody want to die.  Albert King

Welcome to the Escapee forums, Robert! We are happy to have you with us.