Intro

captn_rob

Hi there! New here so I thought I would introduce myself.

My wife and I aren't completely new to RV's - we had a large popup about 8 years ago - but we do still have a lot to learn before we take the full time plunge in the spring. We are both 40-somethings. 2 of our 3 kids are grown but the youngest is only 6. I am a software engineer working on being able to work remotely. We are currently renting and had talked about buying land here in Montana to build a small cabin but all of our family is back east (originally from Maine) and I can't bring myself to set down roots so far away. In fact, the whole idea of locking myself into ONE location just seems WRONG now. We've moved twice in the past 5 years and are sick of the packing/unpacking and paying moving expenses. When I broached the possibility of living in an RV permanently, my wife LOVED the idea - surprisingly! Now we are making concrete plans and have selected the 5th wheel and floorplan that we want. Since this will be our permanent home and we will have to take out a sizable loan we intend to get what we want/need right away. With the 6 year old (who we intend to homeschool once we hit the road) one of our requirements is to have an extra bedroom (which will double as my office when working from home).

We have already done quite a lot of research but we are still open to any advice.

Thanks,

Rob

Where will you work when the child is sick? Where will the child play while you work? What will you do when you are in the zone when the child's bedtime comes? Sharing that space sounds awkward to me.

Linda Sand

Blog: http://sandcastle.sandsys.org/

Former Rigs: Liesure Travel van, Winnebago View 24H, Winnebago Journey 34Y, Sportsmobile Sprinter conversion van

hey rob, welcome to site. IT guy here. webmaster, ect..