Tax Deduction for RV as second home

We are currently paying a mortgage on a home in Minnesota and now we are working full time and living in a Class A motorhome

in Williston North Dakota.

I know the interest on the motorhome loan is deductible, but is the lot rent we pay deductible?

Since we have to pay for electricity as well, is any part of that deductible?

Thanks,

John

Lot rent probably isn't; if I rent an apartment the rent isn't a tax deduction (although when I was a college student in Michigan, there was a low income property tax credit & I was able to claim that based on a percentage of my rent).

And electricity is even less likely to be tax deductible - if it is I could sure use that on my s&b.

Maybe if you were using your motorhome as an office (or have a dedicated office space in your motorhome) you could claim a portion of those things as a business expense, similar to a home office situation. But I don't know much about such things since I've never had a home office. I'd talk to a tax professional before trying that.

Yes, lot rent is and interest on camper is. It's a home. As long as you have to stay away from your primary home for work, your second home expense is deductible. You have a state/city meal allowance determined by the irs also. Your mileage from primary home to lot/space you are parking second home and addition mileage when you travel back to primary home also. Key point is "second home for employment"

2003 Teton Grand Freedom towed with 2006 Freightliner Century 120 across the beautiful USA welding pipe.https://photos.app.goo.gl/O32ZjgzSzgK7LAyt1

Thought I made that plain. "Second home". This is the IRS term used also. You have to have a primary home you are leaving to work, stay somewhere which will be second home, and return to primary home. That is why we had to purchase a residence in Texas to return to when not working so I could continue deducting expenses after we sold our place in NC.