Cost of TT

marytaz

Newbie here. I'm going to be purchasing a TT when I retire and paying cash for it. Trying to figure out how to determine an inflation price hike as I won't be buying for 5-6 more years to give me guide as to how much to put away for it. Any ideas? Thanks!

Mary (in CA)...following the dream to Idaho...

“Home is the place where, when you have to go there, They have to take you in.”
Robert Frost

If you already know what you want, you could take that price and inflate it by the typical historic price rises. The problem is in knowing what you will want when the time comes since RVs change over time in more ways than just inflation. Designs change, amenities change and event the things which most owners consider to be necessities change. Just to get some idea of what the rate of change has been over recent years, I took the price of the three finalist RVs that we were shopping for in 1998 when we were preparing to go fulltime and compared each one to the listed prices of the same or equivalent model of the same brand today. Since each one was in a directly competitive market, I then did some math and I found that the one with least change over that period averaged an increase of 0.4%/year and the one with the greatest price increase was just over 0.6% so you could probably be safe if you figure at least 5% and something less than 10% for inflation per year.

That is just a guess, but it is difficult to do much more.

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI