Problem w/ Prodigy Brake Controller

KandJBm

I have been using this Prodigy proportional controller for 7 yrs and it now is acting weirdly. Went on line for help and have found all kinds of info on the codes (OL, SH) which all have to do with wiring, connectors or brake magnet problems, but I can't find any info on how to test the controller itself. I have checked all the wiring and connectors and magnets and can find no problems (I know that does not necessarily mean I have no wiring problems!) Are there no tests for the controller itself?

Howdy!

As stated above, hook up to another trailer and see what results you get. I had the same problem as your having with a brand new Rv I pulled off the lot. Turned out to be crimped brake wiring coming through the backing plate. The RV dealerships they will tell you they hate Prodogy brake controllers. Reason being they dignose problems dealers want to ignore.

"Happy Trails"

Chiefneon

"Class of 2007 Fulltimer's"

Gary & karen

Smoochie & Michaela (fur babies)

2018 Chevorlet 3500 HD/LTZ 2L Custom Hauler

2014 Heartland Cyclone 4000

2016 Smart Car Prime

I had a Prodigy several years ago . Worked great for several years - then started acting erratically. Turned out to be the wires thru the trailer axles had bounced around inside & had rubbed off the insulation in spots. I pulled the wires out & replaced them (plastec wire tied new ones to the axles) & the Prodigy worked great after that.

Ron

what are specific issues?

Ron

Got the two codes: SH and OL. Now (8 days and 600 miles later, I only get the dot and not even the c When I turn the manual lever I get n.c.

Can you hook up the controller to another trailer? This may make a lot of the troubleshooting steps easier if it does something different with a different trailer.

Now that we are home I will see if my neighbor has a Prodigy on his truck and will ask if I can try his Prodigy on my truck and mine on his truck.

Howdy!