People think I am crazy Semi vs Pickup debate...........

Vegas Teacher

Hello all,

Many of my friends and family think I am crazy for wanting to buy a Semi over a F350 Dully or 450 truck. I am a year saving into the process and have a little over 10K saved. I will save the same amount this year plus as a teacher I got a prep buy out and will put and additional 6K on top of the 10K into savings so I will have about 26K to start with next summer. I am not sure if that is a good price range but I could save and be in the 35K range in the summer of 2017. Anyway I am serious about making the switch and my family thinks I have lost it. I come from a very conservative family and they all live inside the box. Nobody thinks outside the box. I have a couple three questions, and I promise more dumb questions to come over the next year. I just want to go in armed as well as possible.

Question #1 I am currently pulling a 23.5 foot Fleetwood Pioneer. Yes it is a bumper tow so does anybody know if it is extremely difficult to put a bumper tow hitch on a Semi or a receiver for a hitch. I currently am pulling with a 2008 Toyota Tundra. I love the Tundra but want to move up to a 45 foot triple axle toy hauler with a garage in the 12 foot range. I have German Shepherds and want to set them up in a luxury suite LOL. We go to Schutzhund trials with them. I know this is overkill for my little trailer but I want to get the semi first then start saving for the trailer. I have been looking on Craig's list and see I need to save around 35K for a decent one.

Question #2 Has anybody tried to put a wooden bed in behind the cabin? I love the look of wooden flat beds and would love to do that to have a bed to pull a jeep up onto.

Question #3 How difficult is it to find camp grounds / RV parks to take Semi's with large toy haulers? Also has anybody taken two spaces in a camp ground or RV because they couldn't find anything else.