My history with WiFi Ranger

Yes, I was an early adopter of WFR. I spent a lot of money and even more time to get the system to work as advertised. I even wrote a blog about it, you can see it http://wfranger.wordpress.com But in all honesty, the system has not and still doesn't work as I expect.

A very brief history: I made my living with computers. I have designed, manufactured, and supported systems that I am convinced each of you have used at one time or another. So I am not just a total newbie to electronics, although my last working years were more manager than techie.

Now WFR looks very good. But if I am at a park (like now) which has multiple access points, and I have made one a preferred one, it keeps dropping the signal and reconnecting to a different one (which may or may not work). Frequently, when I wake up in the morning, the WFR is down and when I try to connect (so I can access the control pane)l I get an error message something like "Unable to connect -- try to move closer".

Because of connection issues, I have elected not to install my modem in the Go2 and instead use a Verizon Jetpack. That way the WFR can "see" my Jetpack and access it if there are no usable open WiFi signals. But I do need the WFR system as it connects to my printer and AppleTV.

Yes, my WFR has all the latest updates. I now have the WFR Go (bought after I scrapped the original WFR) and the WFRBoost (Version 2, after I scrapped the original indoor version). Yes, it is installed correctly. But I just don't understand why it keeps dropping the signal. My workaround has been to manually log into a different AP, but I shouldn't have to do that with all the equipment installed.

I'm about ready to scrap the system, but I have tried to make it work for 4 years, drilled holes in the roof, and in short tried my best so if anyone has any suggestions please let me know. I still believe WFR is exactly the system I need - as long as it works.

== John