Why are there not more National Coaches on the Road?

robt65

I am new to Coach RV'ing. I am thinking seriously about purchasing a 2002 National Tradewinds 374 LE Diesel Pusher with a 7.2L Caterpillar® 3126, 330 horsepower, 860 lb/ft torque @ 1,440 RP, coupled with an Allison® MH 300 six speed automatic with 2 overdrive gear. I really like the layout especially being a bigger guy (6'5.5 and 270 lbs. I would have the dining table and chairs switched out for a nook style to double as a bed for one of our daughters. Floor plan can be seen here: http://www.rvarizona.net/new_galleria.asp?pov=4004441

I would appreciate any comments both pro and con about the coach from previous owners of folks who really know something about this particular manufacture. I would also be changing out the current 7000 lb hitch for a 10,000 hitch for pulling a trailer loaded with a 2012 Chevrolet 2500HD Crew Cab.

Thank You,

Regards

robt65

We are driving a 2007 Dolphin. Significant Difference in that mine is a Ford F53 gas, V-10, 362 HP, BAnks Power chassis. We bought it in 2012, five years old, 28,000 miles.. We have had zero problems with the Chassis. The manufacturer, National RV, is out of business. They did use standard parts & components, and seemed to be better than average in design & layout. Things that we have repaired have been Rear camera (Jensen), Refrigerator (Norcold), steps (Kwikee - Previous owner banged up), and slider motor (Power Gear - WE banged up).

I think National made a good product, used quality parts & components, and avoided shortcuts in manufacture - I love their shower in our unit... component states it was made in their facility in Perris, CA, and it is a great shower for our 36' unit.

I would say, watch the age - I think two components that we replaced, Camera, and Refrigerater heating elements, were age related. Other than that, I would have no problem buying a national product.

Good luck!

2007 Dolphin

• Safe-T-Plus Steering Bar

Our Blog: Click Here