Fridge...can something like this be repaired?

I'm purchasing a 1992 Fleetwood Tioga Arrow. The fridge doesn't work and this is what the current owner emailed me.

"The fridge is a model that has at least a relay problem. It went out before and I took it down to an RV repair shop thinking new fridge. It was just a $12.00 relay. They said this happens to this model. It was a design flaw and nothing can be done to cure it other than new fridge."

The fridge is an S620 Silhouette by Dometic.

Any feedback is appreciated :)

Dan

http://www.taketimeforlife.com

"The Best Gift We Can Give Our Children is Our Time"

If you visit Bryant RV you can download a copy of the service manual for that series of refrigerators. I have no experience working on that particular model but I sure would not spend much to repair a refrigerator that is 23 years old. If I have the right manual (I think that I do) there is a relay shown on the schematic but I see no mention of it in the trouble shooting section. I'd be very surprised if you can get one of them for $12 and would not be at all surprised if you found parts for that model difficult to find parts for it.

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

I would get the relay part number and verify you can still get the part for a 23 year old fridge, assuming it's the original fridge. If I was the owner and knew this was a common repeat problem I would have purchased 2 and carry one as a spare, $12 is cheap for a spare known problem part. Our Dometic died in less than 7 years and was replaced with a much more reliable (and less expensive) household fridge as we do not boondock. You might want to consider your purchase price taking into account a fridge replacement cost. Greg

Greg & Judy Bahnmiller
Class of 2007
2014 F350
2007 HitchHiker Champagne

Both sold 2/19, settled in Foley, AL after 12 years on the road