Soldiers committing suicide... help me understand...

BrianT

Not being a veteran, I hope you will forgive me for posting in this forum. But I had hoped you'd allow me to ask a question.

I've been seeing more talk of late about soldiers committing suicide. I think the last number I heard was something like 24 a day. That sounds like a pretty alarming number to me.

What really caught my attention was a soldier that someone had posted a picture of on Facebook that had recently ended her life. She was young. She was pretty. She was obviously accomplished by the bars on her uniform. She gave the appearance of what should have been a long and happy life ahead. My heart really sank when I read that she committed suicide.

Not having been a soldier, I know I may never really comprehend what goes on in the minds of these people. It must be awful, horrible, excruciating. And I wondered whether someone here might be able to give me a sense of what's happening? What's going on in their minds that they feel like they need to end it all? What is it that they've seen and experienced that they can't deal with?

I ask with as much respect as I know how. I just wanted to understand a little better what's going on. It's such a sad situation and I sure wish that more could be done to help these people rather than just let them go, casualties of what I'm guessing is an internal war inside of them.

Interested in your thoughts.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply