Need help picking out a truck to tow

GRRV

We are considering buying our first travel trailer, and I could use some help figuring out the tow vehicle needs.

We are looking at a Keystone Sprinter (278BHS). The overall length is 31'8", weighing 7000 pounds, and 785 at the hitch. The fresh water tank is 81 gallons. As far as gear, we will have 2 adults and 2 kids, with occasionally 2 kids' friends to join. Not sure what all that adds up to, but I'm guessing 1200 to 1500 to be safe. So I suppose we are looking at about 8500 total, maybe a bit less.

We do not have a tow vehicle, and would like to find an used pickup that will work well. If possible, I'd like to keep the budget around $8,000 to $12,000, but since I am new to pulling an RV, I don't want to skimp here, or wind up with something that will be pushing it or worse, be unsafe.

So the main question is for any suggestions on what we should be looking at (F150/1500 or bigger?), 2x4 versus 4x4, maximum reasonable milage for a used truck, etc. I am also wondering whether a shorter truck (standard cab, short bed) would be easier to manuver than a longer truck (new to towing and want to keep it easy to handle). Also, does a hitch sway bar or other hitch equipment make sense for us?

Thanks in advance!

Where you live and where you plan on traveling will dictate whether or not 4x4 would be wanted or needed. Generally, 2x4 will get you better fuel economy. As to the rest, whatever you look at you should carefully check out the specs of that particular tow vehicle as not all pickups are created equal. Newer trucks, for example, tend to have higher capacities than older ones.

If the truck is not going to be carrying anything but you and gear, then you need not factor in the weight of the passengers. If you are going to be camping in camp grounds then you do not need to factor in the weight of all that water, but if you plan a doing some boondocking then you do need to factor it.