Straight Talk hotspot?

oediehl

I'm seriously considering trying a smart phone and a quarterly Straight Talk plan. I'm new to this and NOT a big phone user; the $200 I've paid into my prepaid cell over 2+ years still has something like $170 left ;-)

But once we start traveling more seriously I expect to use the phone more, and I would also like to be able to use cellular for internet connectivity, either on the road or in a campground with no useful wifi. From my readings on this forum and elsewhere I've mostly given up my fantasy of streaming video over cellular or campground wifi; I'll just bring my DVR along and record cable or broadcast TV where it's available. And bring along a bunch of DVDs...

I'll keep my prepaid (AT&T) phone and likely get a smartphone that hooks up with Verizon for the missus. I've had a couple ideas; not sure how viable either of them are. The first would be to get a smartphone that is capable of acting as a hotspot. Is that workable in the world of Straight Talk? Could the missus use the phone/hotspot while traveling (assuming Verizon had coverage in the area), and connect her laptop to it? The second idea is to get just a cellular hotspot device (that will hook up to Verizon), and buy a non-plan smartphone that can use wifi, But maybe the latter plan is not workable, since if the wifi-smartphone isn't on some type of cellular plan, not even prepaid, perhaps I would not even have a phone number? I don't suppose Straight Talk would allow a phone and a hotspot device to share the same prepaid account?

rig4.jpg

I wouldn't consider any hotspot from ST after the crappy nonexistant service I am getting for the faulty Z289 I purchased recently.

Roy

2011 GMC 3500 SRW CC, SB, Duramax/Allison
2008 HitchHiker LS 29.5 FKTG, 7000lb axles, Glide Ride, HD brakes, dual pane windows, 40" Panasonic, Magnadyne HTS, PD surge protector, etc.